Getting Ready

Wow. So you’re going to Mannheim? Good luck, you’ll have a blast!!

I went searching for other experiences of students going to Mannheim as part of my personal research prior to my own arrival, and I found them to be so helpful. Whether if they were YouTube videos, using Google Maps Streetview to scope out the city, reading other blogs, etc. I wanted to start this blog to give others a taste of what I felt as well. A lot of other resources I had read were out of date, so hopefully this will be very useful as information will be a bit more recent.

You’ve probably been given so many lists of what to do. You’re probably freaking out.

Calm down. You got this!

What really helped me is creating a timeline. There are so many deadlines, so many things to remember. Organize it in whatever way helps you best.

Depending on how much time you have left until your arrival, there are few things you should be looking into right now. Some to consider include possible scholarships, entry requirements (VISAs), budgeting, housing options, and packing.

Things that may be on your mind, but you should just leave until you physically arrive in Mannheim include: your new phone plan/phone number, your German bank account (optional), transportation, etc. I’ll make a post about these in the near future.

Check out this page from the University of Mannheim website – if you are a resident of certain countries, then you will not a VISA to enter Germany at all. As I am from Canada, I did not need one. The University still may send you an email suggesting you to apply for one regardless, but the price, wait, and inconvenience may made it very difficult for you. Personally, I didn’t bother, as I would be forced to dish out $800-1000 to fly across the country to go to the German Embassy, and still risk not getting my VISA in time for my departure to Germany. If it’s convenient for you, I’d consider doing it as it will make things less stressful for you when you get to Mannheim. There will be less lines to queue up in, and you will spend less time in the wonderful K7 (“City Hall”/Foreigner’s Registration) that you will become quite familiar with. Just a heads up, but every single person I’ve encountered so far speak little to no English, so communication will be difficult.

Don’t be afraid to ask questions, whether if that’s with your own International Programs Office, or that of those in charge of incoming exchange students from the University of Mannheim. Things are confusing, they get that.


Leave a comment